#4 the day I left home

#4 The day I left home…
Fat Mum Slim
‘s 50 things to blog about

Leaving home is bittersweet.. It really is.

I almost forget what it’s like to live at home, and I’ve only been out for 3 years. But it feels like a lifetime ago.

Now the decision to move out wasn’t an easy one. Both me & my (now) hubby were in good situations with our home life. We were both living at our respective homes with our mums. I know they (secretly) loved having us there as well & it suited us. We weren’t in a huge rush to move out, and as it happened – we weren’t even looking.

At that point in time, we had been together for about 3 years. You get to that point (well we did) and we started thinking; House or Holiday? We had spent some time looking at local real estate, but other than web surfing, that was it. We finally decided nope – the holiday won.

Trav was lucky enough to spend 8 months in America attending college in 2008/2009 & I had travelled over there when I was younger as well as when he was over there to see him, and to put it lightly – we were in love (With US of A). So we decided to organise a 5 week holiday. Booked flights, accommodation & more internal flights (bear with me, this is about the day I left home I swear) & even organised to catch up with some people who Trav has met whilst in College.

Then REIWA happened. Sorry Ashton looking on REIWA happened.

Then Ashton sent a link to mum. Mum wrote back ‘love it’.

Ashton sent to Trav. Trav replied ‘let’s have a look’.

We saw it, fell in love & left. 2 weeks later we put an offer in to buy it. To be honest – I think we both weren’t betting on our offer being accepted. We hadn’t even spoken to the bank about IF we would even be able to borrow the money to buy it. But still we put in the offer & it was within a matter of hours that the RE agent called with the dreaded exciting news “Your offer has been accepted!”

I had luckily been collecting, accruingaccumulating, hoarding stuff at mums of homewards. Mainly kitchen stuff, but it was definitely enough to get us by for at least a year. 3 years later & most of it is still going strong.

Now although we didn’t think buying a house would be easy, we didn’t think it would be THAT hard. We unfortunately were the ones buying off a couple divorcing.. In a bit of a bitter divorce too. So something that should have taken a month or so, took nearly 3 months worth of fighting back & forth between the previous owners. All I can say is, finally getting the keys that Wednesday night was worth it. Finally. Home.

230601_218356654850487_2733998_n

Because settlement had been set, then reset 3 times, we had basically packed everything up. I had even packed up a lot of my clothes. So to live with limited clothes as a female was painful. Utterly painful.

Finally I had those keys in my hot little hand & I headed over to the house with my mum & sister to unpack some stuff I had loaded into the back of Trav’s ute. He was working away at that time & wasn’t due back until the next day when the main deliveries were happening. I just remember it being about 7pm, it was dark, and here are these 3 crazy lamb ladies trying to unload stuff without being a nuisance. Eventually we got it all moved over a few days.

It’s now been just over 3 years & as I mentioned.. It feels like a lifetime ago.

I love the freedom of having our own home, but I won’t lie in saying that sometimes I wish we had of waited. Got all of the travelling out of bones. But what can ya do?

We found a house & fell in love.

Leave a comment